The eyes have it

27 05 2008

I’ve become aware of differences in light as I’ve played more with my camera.

  • Infrared film allows a different way to look at every-day objects, giving a different black-and-white relationship between objects depending on how they handle heat.
  • Polarizing filters can make for a much darker and intense blue when shooting pics of clouds in the sky. And we all know about light reflecting off the hoods of our cars, and how Polaroid glasses help suppress the glare. Fishermen, likewise, make use of Polaroid glasses to be able to see through the glare on water to the fish below.
  • At one time I had sunglasses with a brown tint instead of the usual gray. One day when I came home I noticed brown patches on the lawn, but when I went back out to check them out there were no brown patches. I watched them over the next several days and discovered that with the glasses I was able to see the beginnings of the lawn turning brown for the summer, even though with “normal” sight the grass looked just as green and vibrant as ever. I also saw that different trees looked different through the glasses, while without they all looked similarly green.

Beyond that, we’ve seen myriad space photos using equipment that looks at the different radio wave spectra emitted, then applying artificial colors to the received spectra.

Unfortunately we don’t have a natural ability to see like this, but other beasts do.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

